HOMEJapan Media Arts Festival - About

About Japan Media Arts Festival

The Japan Media Arts Festival is a comprehensive festival of Media Arts (=Media Geijutsu) that honors outstanding works from a diverse range of media- from animation and comics to media art and games. The festival gives awards in each of its four divisions: Art, Entertainment, Animation, and Manga. It also provides a platform for appreciation of the award-winning and other notable works. Since its inception in 1997, the festival has recognized significant works of high artistry and creativity, and in addition to a yearly Exhibition of Award-winning Works has held other events, such as symposiums, screenings, and showcases. This year the 17th Festival received a record 4,347 entries from 84 countries and regions around the world, demonstrating its continuing evolution as an established annual international festival.
Award-winning works are exhibited both within Japan and abroad through various projects and events organized by The Agency of Cultural Affairs which aims to promote the creation, development and understanding/awareness/appreciation of Media Arts.

Organizer Japan Media Arts Festival Executive Committee

The 17th Japan Media Arts Festival Executive Committee


AOYAGI Masanori [Commissioner for Cultural Affairs]

Operating Committee

AOKI Tamotsu
[Director, The National Art Center, Tokyo]
[Animation Artist and Affiliate Professor, Tokyo Polytechnic University]
[President, Kyoto City University of Arts]

Jury Member

Art Division


GOGOTA Hisanori [Curator and Owner of Baikado]
MIWA Masahiro [Composer and Professor, Institute of Advanced Media Arts and Science (IAMAS)]
OKABE Aomi [Art Critic]
TAKATANI Shiro [Artist]
UEMATSU Yuka [Curator, National Museum of Modern Art, Osaka]


Entertainment Division


IIDA Kazutoshi [Game Creator and Professor, Digital Hollywood University]
IWATANI Toru [Game Creator and Professor, Tokyo Polytechnic University]
KUBOTA Akihiro [Artist and Professor, Tama Art University]
NAKAMURA Yugo [Interface Designer and CEO of tha ltd.]
UKAWA Naohiro [Genzai (Contemporary) Artist and Professor, Kyoto University of Art and Design and Representative, DOMMUNE]


Animation Division


KOIDE Masashi [ Animation Researcher and Professor, Tokyo Zokei University]
MORIMOTO Koji [Animation Director]
OHI Fumio [Animation Artist]
SUGII Gisaburo [Animation Director]
WADA Toshikatsu [Animation Artist]


Manga Division


ITO Go [Manga Critic and Associate Professor, Tokyo Polytechnic University]
MINAMOTO Taro [Manga Artist and Manga Researcher]
SAITO Nobuhiko [Editor, Manga Researcher]
SUGAYA Mitsuru [Manga Artist and Professor, Kyoto Seika University]
YAMADA Tomoko [Manga Researcher]

Selection Members

Art Division


[Media Artist and Lecturer, Sapporo Otani University]
KUDO Takeshi
[Curator, Aomori Museum of Art]
MATSUI Shigeru
[Poet and Associate Professor, Art Media Center, Tokyo University of the Arts]
[Curator, Tokyo Metropolitan Museum of Photography and Yebisu International Festival for Art and Alternative Vision]
[Curator, 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art, Kanazawa]

Special Advisor

[Professor, Tokyo University of Technology and Professor emeritus,
the University of Tokyo]

Entry Outline


The Four Divisions (Art, Entertainment, Animation, Manga)


Art Division


Works of art created with new media and digital technologies.
Interactive art, media installations, video works, graphic art (digital illustration, digital photography, computer graphics, etc), web-based works, media performances, etc.


Entertainment Division


Works for entertainment created with digital technologies.
Games (video games, online games, etc.), video works (music videos, advertising videos, special effects videos, etc.), gadgets, electronics, websites, application software, etc.


Animation Division


Animated feature films, animated short films, animated series, etc.


Manga Division


Comics published in book form, comics published in a magazine (including works still being serialized), comics published online (for computer or mobile), self-published comics, etc.


*Professional, amateur, independent, and commercial works are all eligible for submission.


・Works must be completed or released between:
Friday, September 21, 2012 and Thursday, September 19, 2013


*Works completed, changed, renewed, presented or released during the above period are eligible for entry.
*While the number of entries made is unlimited, the same work may not be entered in multiple divisions.


・The entrant must hold the copyright to the submitted work. If the work is submitted by a representative, permission from the copyright holder must be obtained.



For each division, one Grand Prize, four Excellence Awards, and three New Face Awards will be awarded on the basis of artistic quality and creativity. In addition, a Special Achievement Award will be awarded on the recommendation of the Jury to an individual or group who has made a special contribution to Media Arts in any of the four divisions.


Grand Prize: Certificate*, trophy, 600,000 Japanese Yen
Excellence Award: Certificate*, trophy, 300,000 Japanese Yen
New Face Award: Certificate*, trophy, 200,000 Japanese Yen
Special Achievement Award: Certificate*, trophy Other outstanding entries will be chosen by the Jury as Jury Selections.


(* Certificates from the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology)