The 25th Japan Media Arts Festival closed entries on September 3, 2021. As last time, the festival saw enthusiastic participation with a total of 3,537 works submitted. 1,660 international entries from 94 countries and regions. These numbers reflect the festival’s increasing international recognition as a showcase that widely presents diverse and contemporary artistic expressions in the field of Media Arts (Media Geijutsu in Japanese).

Entry Period : 2021.7.1 - 9.3

Total Number : 3,537 Works

  • Number of Entries by Division

    • Art Division

      Interactive art: 225
      Media installations: 179
      Video works: 511
      Video installations: 109
      Graphic art: 622
      Internet art: 85
      Media performances: 63
      Total: 1,794

    • Entertainment Division

      Games: 79
      Video / Sound works: 247
      Multimedia productions: 60
      Products: 61
      Websites, Applications: 42
      Total: 489

    • Animation Division

      Animated feature films, Animated TV series, Videos for streaming: 102
      Animated short films: 463
      Total: 565

    • Manga Division

      Comics published in book form, Comics published in a magazine: 595
      Comics published online: 59
      Self-published comics: 35
      Total: 682

  • Entries from Abroad

    • 1,660 works from 94 countries and regions

      * last time's festival received 1,715 works from 102 countries and regions

      Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zimbabwe, Hong Kong, Taiwan(Alphabetical order)